For Rent
> > > > > PL-10589

Hideaway Cottage... Oceanfront oasis for your dream vacation!

4.3/5(3 reviews)
Add to Wishlist
 
Full moon on the beach at low tide. - 1/25
Sundeck and red sand beach at low tide. - 2/25
Front deck, sun room, front yard. - 3/25
Beach - 4/25
Hideaway Cottage - 5/25
Right on the ocean! View of front lawn, beach stairs, and beach - 6/25
Hideaway Cottage Floorplan - two bedrooms converts to three. - 7/25
Beach at low low tide - 8/25
Beach at low tide - pure red sand! - 9/25
Lobster! - 10/25
View from the beach to the cottage - 11/25
Directly on the seashore! - 12/25
Cottage Front - 13/25
Living room - 14/25
Dining area - 15/25
Beach - 16/25
Hideaway Cottage - very private - 17/25
Clamming anyone? - 18/25
Front of Cottage - 19/25
It's all about the beach, all day long! - 20/25
Bedroom #2 - Subdivides with partition wall creating third bedroom - 21/25
Cape Egmont Harbour - 22/25
Cape Egmont Harbour - 23/25
On the beach at sunset - 24/25
Ripples of the beach! - 25/25
$240 / night
$240 / night
CONTACT OWNER
DescriptionLocationAvailabilityRatesReviews (3)
 

DESCRIPTION

GENERAL DESCRIPTION
Sleeps 6
3 Bedrooms
1 Bathroom
Pets allowed
Smoking
not allowed
Internet
Waterfront

** Please check the calendar on the "Availability" button, above... if the cottage shows "Available" on your dates of interest, it is! **

Enjoy the relaxing beach life at our ocean-front cottage on PEI's Northumberland Strait, which has the warmest ocean waters north of the Carolinas!

Our wonderful summer home is situated on 7 private acres directly on the water's edge with a beautiful red sand beach and warm, shallow waters, with spectacular long-range views of Egmont Bay, Cape Egmont lighthouse, Mont Carmel cathedral, the Confederation Bridge, and the distant shore of New Brunswick.

The cottage is newly renovated and is turn-key with all needed equipment provided - you only need to bring food, beverages, personal items, and consumables for a great time!

The beach is composed of very fine, soft, red sand, with virtually no rocks or pebbles after the shoreline. June-August the water temperature often is in the high 70's (~24-25 C) meaning you can spend all day wading and swimming in the water without getting blue lips or chattering teeth. The shallow waters extend out hundreds of feet, at which point they are still only waist-deep, making the beach perfect (and safe) for young children.

There is an extensive lawn around the cottage for kids to run around and play games.
There are stairs leading down to the beach from the lawn for easy access by young and old alike.

Waterfront: 35 ft. from the water!
Heating: Radiant Baseboard

+ READ MORE
- COLLAPSE


 
AMENITIES AND EQUIPMENT
Bedrooms
3 bedrooms :
- 3 double beds
Kitchen
Coffee maker
Dishes and cutlery
Freezer
Microwave oven
Refrigerator
Stove
Toaster
Communications
Internet access
Telephone (local calls)
General
Dryer
Electricity
Linens Provided
Washer

+ VIEW MORE
- COLLAPSE


 

LOCATION

LOCATION

Province: Prince Edward Island
Region: North Cape Coastal Drive
City: Summerside
Closest ski resort:-
Distance from ski resort:-
Nearest Body of Water:Northumberland Strait
Waterfront: Yes
Other Town/Lake/Area:Summerside
Note: Our wonderful summer home is situated on 7 private acres directly on the water's edge with a beautiful red sand beach and warm, shallow waters.

Our cottage is located about 150 yards east of the world-famous "Bottle Houses" in the charming "La Region Evangeline" - the heart of Acadian Prince Edward Island. Only a few miles from the Acadian Museum in Miscouche and the wonderful villages of Abram Village and Wellington.

AVAILABILITY

Last update: December 03, 2020
December 2020
smtwtfs
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930
31
  
       
January 2021
smtwtfs
     
1
2
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      
February 2021
smtwtfs
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28      
       
March 2021
smtwtfs
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031   
       
April 2021
smtwtfs
    123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930 
       
May 2021
smtwtfs
      
1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     
AvailableNot available

RATES

NightlyWeekend
(Fri & Sat
Nights)
WeeklyMonthlyEventMinimum
Stay
BASE RATE
Rates are based on up to 4 persons. Add $10 per night per additional person.
$240-$1495$4995-3 Nights
Rates are in Canadian dollars

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Payments on CottagesInCanadaNo
Fees
  • Pet cleaning fee : $100.00

NOTES

Nightly: $170 off-peak $240 peak
Weekly: $995 off-peak $1495 peak
Monthly: $3195 off-peak $4,995 peak

All rates are $CDN based on 4 person occupancy. Weekly rate is for 7 nights. Minimum stay 3 nights peak season, 3 nights off-peak. We have to charge 5% GST.

Reservation/damage deposit is $300 CAD. We accept Visa and Mastercard credit cards. We can also process payments by Paypal. For our Canadian customers we prefer bank eTransfer since the transaction feed are lower for everyone, plus we have the ability to process payments without foreign exchange fees or worry about fluctuating exchange rates.

Note: Prices subject to change without notice or compensation.

All payments by credit card or Paypal. Our credit card service only processes transactions in $USD so we would charge based on current exchange rate with $CAD. Paypal payments can be made in either currency. We will convert currency at an approximate bank exchange rate at the time of booking... deposit refunds will be issued at the same exchange rate.

$70 per-person surcharge on top of weekly rates for occupancy >4 persons. Pet cleaning fee surcharge $100.00.

Peak rates are July, August, Sept. through Labour Day (first Monday in Sept.).

Off-peak rates are May, June, September (after Labour Day), October.

REVIEWS

WRITE A REVIEW
4.3
(3 reviews)
(3 reviews)
WRITE A REVIEW
2
0
1
0
0


We truly enjoyed the incredible view and cottage location. We had plenty of space for 4 travelers and a dog. E-mails were answered promptly. There was one concern and the ongoing discussions with the owners made that concern more significant (hence the average rating). The owner requires that guests dispose of all garbage at the end of their stay. PEI has strict garbage disposal rules to encourage composting and recycling (we agree with these rules). We were only advised about the garbage disposal rules after the final payment date passed (as well as the cancellation date). These rules would not have been a problem had we been just two of us with plenty of time to deal with garbage (and to drive 15 km to the waste site) during our stay. We were four adults and a dog with a very early departure time we could not change. We shared our concerns with James and Carolyn. The answer was not satisfactory. We encourage James and Carolyn to modify their rental information to explain their garbage disposal rules. It should be up to guests to decide if this significant garbage disposal task is something they can easily handle during their stay.

Stayed: September 2019    Submitted: Oct 06, 2019
Owner response:
Thank you, Johanne, for your positive comments about our cottage and for sharing your opinions and suggestions. We're glad you had a good time.

This was the first year we implemented the new trash policy after many years of problems dealing with removal of guests' trash. Frankly, we did not see this as a major issue (it is now common in the home rental business, and commonplace on PEI due to the complexities of their recycling program and the limited garbage pickup in rural areas).

As you discovered, the waste transfer station is directly on the Trans-Canada highway on your way to the bridge off the Island. It takes 5 minutes to drop trash off and costs $5.

It seems that your major pain point is that the policy was not communicated in advance during the booking process... so starting next year we will send our cottage information bulletin to guests immediately upon making a reservation.

We are sorry that you feel that our very detailed email to you explaining the need for the trash policy was not adequate. For the benefit of anyone reading this, I am repeating part of our reply to you here:

"The municipality picks up trash weekly - alternating between compostable material and recyclables every other week. This means compostable (stinky) food trash is picked up every two weeks.
The municipality takes a VERY hard line on sorting of trash and recyclables... the proper clear bags must be used, and sorting must be 100% correct.

The garbage truck workers inspect the trash bags as they are taking them out of the bin.

If the rules are not followed, on the first offence they will not take the trash and they tag the container with an infraction notice. On the second and subsequent offences, they again refuse to take the trash and impose a $75 fine per offence, which we must pay as the property owners.

The onus for the complexity of the sorting compostable materials, recycleables, and waste falls on the guests, who may or may not be used to the rigours of such rules and regulations.
There are three consequences:

1. Someone now needs to sort guests' trash after they have departed.
2. It is now another two weeks before the compostable trash will be picked up by the municipality.
3. We incur a $75 fine.

We do not think it reasonable for anyone to have to sort someone else's trash. We leave it to your imagination to ponder the visual and smell of four-week old garbage (think lobster guts) rotting in the hot plastic garbage container in the July sun. Besides being disgusting, it is a health hazard and we cannot afford to expose guests (and pets, since we are pet-friendly) to this sort of thing.

We have investigated getting a roll-off dumpster for garbage disposal... but the same rules apply to garbage dumped in to roll-off bins...it MUST be sorted and in the proper bags or the whole bin is rejected."

The best solution we have is to have guests deal with their own garbage when they depart.

Beautifully appointed cottage with all the amenities in a fantastic location! We had a wonderful week. Steps away from a gorgeous natural beach with red sand bluffs. Owners are responsive and quick to answer any questions we had about the cottage. We would definitely recommend this cottage to friends or anyone visiting PEI!

Stayed: July 2018    Submitted: Jul 25, 2018
Owner response:
Trish, thank you for your kind words! We appreciate the time you took to write a review. We are so happy that you had a great vacation week at our cottage. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards,

James

It was an amazing week. The cottage was far more than we expected and the beach is literally just steps away, with soft sand bars you could walk out forever on during low tide. Will definitely be coming back the next time we are on the island! Highly recommend for anyone visiting the island.

Stayed: June 2016    Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
Owner response:
Thanks, Ashley! We are very happy that you had a great time.

We hope you stay with us again.

$240 / night
$1495 / week
$4995 / month
Contact Owner
First Name *
Last Name *
Email *
Confirm your email *
Check In *
Check Out *
Adults *
Children
Phone Number *
Message *
Member since March 2010
Speaks: English
Response Rate: 100%
Phone NumberPhone Number (Show)


CONTACT OWNER

SHARE THIS COTTAGE
JOIN US ON
Copyright CottagesInCanada
RENTERS
Search
Cottage Rentals
Cottages For Sale
Last Listings
Special Offers
My Wishlist
Secure Payments

OWNERS
List Your Cottage
Owner Login

COTTAGESINCANADA
Terms and Conditions
Private Policy
Contact Us
Français