For Rent
> > > > > GL-11002

Two Rental Waterfront Cottages on Beautiful Lorimer Lake we have the "Sandy" or "Rocky" cottage

3.6/5(5 reviews)
Add to Wishlist
 
Viewing deck off of the kitchen facing the waterfront - 1/5
Kitchen eating area - 2/5
Front of the cottage - 3/5
1st Bedroom - 4/5
Living room area - 5/5
$900 / week
$900 / week
CONTACT OWNER
DescriptionLocationAvailabilityRatesReviews (5)
 

DESCRIPTION

GENERAL DESCRIPTION
Sleeps 8
2 Bedrooms
2 Bathrooms
Pets allowed
Smoking
not allowed
Waterfront

We have 2 beautiful waterfront cottages located on Lorimer Lake.

One cottage is the "Sandy" and the other called the "Rocky" cottage.

Sandy cottage has a sloped grassed area down to the dock and shallow entrance into the water

Rocky cottage has a sloped grassed area down to the dock as well, but no shallow entrance into the water
You're off the dock or rocks and into deeper water

Both cottages have fully equipped kitchens with walk out viewing decks

2 washrooms, one on main floor with shower stall, other upstairs with full tub and shower

Both cottages have a walkout from the basement onto a sloped grassed area down to the waterfront

One cottage has a two person canoe, the other has two one person kayaks

Each cottage has a propane bbq, propane tank provided

We provide outdoor chairs and picnic table.

We do not provide fire wood, but you have all kinds around you as you are surrounded by forest

The cottages are separated by a forested area - so you have your own views of the lake and much needed privacy.

Our cottages have propane heating

** The water inside either cottage is not suitable for drinking as it is pumped in from the lake

The lake itself is known for its clean fresh water and great fishing. It is a long and narrow lake and reaches depths of over 80ft. There are many shallow and weedy bays that provide good cover for largemouth bass and northern pike. There are a series of islands that dot the lake from one end to the other. Fish holding structures such as narrows, point rock piles, rubble shorelines, shoals and steep drop-offs can also be found through out the lake. Lorimer lake connects to Grey Owl lake through Still Creek. Grey Owl is a smaller more shallow lake.

+ READ MORE
- COLLAPSE


 
AMENITIES AND EQUIPMENT
Bedrooms
2 bedrooms :
- 2 single beds
- 1 Queen bed
- 1 Sofa bed
Kitchen
Coffee maker
Dishes and cutlery
Microwave oven
Refrigerator
Stove
Toaster
General
Electricity

+ VIEW MORE
- COLLAPSE


 

LOCATION

LOCATION

Province: Ontario
Region: Muskoka / Georgian Bay
City: Parry Sound
Closest ski resort:-
Distance from ski resort:-
Nearest Body of Water:Lorimer Lake
Waterfront: Yes
Other Town/Lake/Area:Parry Sound (30 km)

AVAILABILITY

Last update: June 08, 2021
September 2021
smtwtfs
   123
4
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
       
October 2021
smtwtfs
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      
November 2021
smtwtfs
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    
       
December 2021
smtwtfs
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 
       
January 2022
smtwtfs
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     
February 2022
smtwtfs
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728     
       
AvailableNot available

RATES

NightlyWeekend
(Fri & Sat
Nights)
WeeklyMonthlyEventMinimum
Stay
BASE RATE
Rates are based on up to 8 persons. Add $20 per night per additional person.
--$900--1 Week
Rates are in Canadian dollars

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Check-in after03:00 PM
Check-out before11:00 AM
Booking Deposit50% due at time of booking (The balance is due on arrival)
Payments on CottagesInCanadaNo
Cancellation PolicyModerate

NOTES

A 50 % deposit is required to reserve either cottage for you

REVIEWS

WRITE A REVIEW
3.6
(5 reviews)
(5 reviews)
WRITE A REVIEW
2
1
1
0
1

We (2 adults, 2 kids, 1 dog) stayed at the Rocky cottage for a week, and had a wonderful time! The cottage is spacious, and comfortable. Having read the notes here, we brought pillows, blankets, and the linens (also, kitchen towels), in addition to the "regular" stuff you bring to a cottage. The balcony was so nice to have the morning coffee on, and the front deck was great to sit on when it drizzled outside. The location is perfect, very quiet and peaceful. The lake is beautiful and peaceful, clear and no loud jets! We enjoyed kayaking and swimming, the kids loved jumping off the rocks and lounging on the big flat rocks where the water is shallow. Parry Sound is about 35min away, if you're looking for some town entertainment. Or grab a quick lunch and ice cream at a fish n chips truck in McKellar 10 min away. Great stay and the owners are very nice! Hope to come back next year!

Stayed: July 2021    Submitted: Jul 31, 2021

Rented Sandy cottage for a week. First of all - We've been renting cottages for almost 10 years now, priced from $800 to over $2000 per week. Regretfully, have to say that one was by far the worse experience so far.

Cons:
- dirty. Kitchen was clean, but first thing we had to do was washing the floors. No fun stepping on sandy floors. Despite having the bucket and broom ready I bet the floors haven't been washed for months. The water was as black as oil.
- no blankets and pillows. At all. It's expected to bring own linens (were warned too), but nothing was said about pillows. Called the owner, best she could come up with was suggesting to drive (30 km) and buy them (in her opinion linens included all bedding). Anecdotally pillows are present on the cottage pics.
- pans are so bad it's dangerous to use for cooking (apparently haven't been replaced in years, debris of coating sticking out, food sticks like cement)
- no kettle of any kind
- no curtains or blinds on main floor (sleeping area for two), nice but only if you get up with first sun. Not mentioning the fridge making noise of raging bull on the same floor...
- bed in unfinished basement between the drain pipes is a joke - cold (no blankets),smelly and noisy.
- water filter jammed and set to "bypass" instead of being replaced. Lake intake is shallow too, so unfiltered lake water is very dirty.
- TV with no antenna? Why???
- The house is old, with no insulation whatsoever (you can hear upstairs


Stayed: July 2018    Submitted: Jul 30, 2018
Owner response:
Sergei:
I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the Sandy Cottage
The cottages are cleaned after every renter leaves the premises, everything is swept, wiped down, washed ......
You did call about the pillows and blankets, I did apologize that we had a difference of opinion of what the "linens" were, if we were north that weekend I would have brought you some pillows, needless to say we were in Toronto for that weekend, hence the reason i made the suggestion for you to drive to Walmart in town and purchase some cheap pillows and blankets to get you through your stay

Sorry about the pans, I had no idea they are as bad as you claim, I will purchase some replacements
Blinds on the windows??
Anecdotally you do not see any window coverings in any of the pics, in our opinion it obstructs from the beautiful water front, but for future reference something to think about
Fridges are new, purchased last season so not sure what the noise could have been
WE will check the water intake
TV with no antenna ??
Receive few channels that's why we purchased a tv/dvd combo so people could enjoy movies if they don't want to be outside.
Both cottages are about 15 years old, they are winterized and have propane furnaces in each

as my first time at a cottage it blew me away, it was everything I had expected and then some. the house is huge, comfortable and very clean, the convenience of having 2 full bathrooms was awesome. the location was amazing, it was private, and water was pretty nice too once you get past the first couple of feet from the Dock. the only thing that was not perfect is the steep hill from the cottage to the dock, but it wast bad. will love to come back next summer or even this summer.

Stayed: July 2017    Submitted: Jul 11, 2017

We enjoyed a week at the "Rocky" Cottage. We were pleased with the privacy, not another cottage in sight! The kitchen area is large and there is lots of cupboard space for food. Very nice to have 2 bathrooms, one on the main floor and one upstairs between the bedrooms. The bunkbed room is great for kids and has a beautiful large window perfect for star gazing from the top bunk. Both rooms have ceiling fans which is nice. We really enjoyed the 2 kayaks and loved exploring the lake. The dock to the lake is in need of repair and that was our only disappointment. It was fun fishing right from the dock and catching fish easily, a thrill for the kids!

Stayed: August 2016    Submitted: Aug 22, 2016

We had a recent stay at the Rocky Cottage. When we first arrived, our first impression was extremely positive. The cottage was immaculate in terms of cleanliness. It offers a very spacious main floor and a very good-sized kitchen. Lots of counter space for prep work.
The cottage has very nice high ceilings on main and upper floor and ceiling fans in both bedrooms and dining room. The smaller bedroom has bunk beds with what looks to be brand-new mattresses. And very good ones. Because of the thickness of the mattress, there was very little room between the bottom and top bunk, so an older child probably would not fit in that bunk.
The main bedroom is very large and spacious, and both bathrooms were very clean and also had lots of room (one is. 4-piece, the other a 3-piece).
The Rocky and Sandy cottages are quite a distance from each other and you have complete privacy. The Rocky cottage has a steep hill to get to the waterfront and could be an issue for very young children or those with mobility issues. The Sandy cottage appeared as though the waterfront would be much easier to get to (from our view when we were on the water).
The Rockey cottage had 2 kayaks which we loved. It is in a great location and between 2 small towns and not far from Parry Sound.
The owners were fantastic in answering questions and tending to our needs and were genuinely concerned about us being happy with our stay. They respond to messages very quickly. Well maintained property.


Stayed: July 2016    Submitted: Jul 30, 2016
Owner response:
Hi Sherry - thank you for such positive feedback on your stay at the Rocky cottage.
I'm glad you and your family had such a great experience.
In our many years of renting, you are the first person who actually took the time and cared to write a review :0)
Hope to hear from you next summer !!

$900 / week
Contact Owner
First Name *
Last Name *
Email *
Confirm your email *
Check In *
Check Out *
Adults *
Children
Phone Number *
Message *
MARALEE OROFINO
Member since June 2009
Speaks: English
Response Rate: 100%


CONTACT OWNER

SHARE THIS COTTAGE
JOIN US ON
Copyright CottagesInCanada
RENTERS
Search
Cottage Rentals
Cottages For Sale
Last Listings
Special Offers
My Wishlist
Secure Payments

OWNERS
List Your Cottage
Owner Login

COTTAGESINCANADA
Terms and Conditions
Private Policy
Contact Us
Français