For Rent
> > > > > DI-20264

NEW 5* WATERFRONT COTTAGE ON BASS LAKE & ORILLIA CLOSE TO GTA - SUMMER DATES JUST RELEASED!

4.4/5(19 reviews)
Add to Wishlist
 
outside view from all rooms - 1/21
guest provided photo - view from dock, summer 2019 - 2/21
view from deck - 3/21
view from wrap around deck - 4/21
large wrap around deck - can fit 50 people! - 5/21
view from dining room - 6/21
new custom designed kitchen - 7/21
view from new kitchen - 8/21
new main living area - 9/21
spacious living room - 10/21
new custom bathroom main floor - 11/21
new master bedroom - 12/21
new bedroom #2 - queen bed - 13/21
new bedroom #3 - twin over full bunk bed - 14/21
new bedroom #4 - single bed - 15/21
pool table - 16/21
new staircase to games room - 17/21
outside - 18/21
sunset from road side, summer 2019 - 19/21
view of cottage from lake - 20/21
distance view of cottage from lake - 21/21
$300 / night
$300 / night
CONTACT OWNER
DescriptionLocationAvailabilityRatesReviews (19)
 

DESCRIPTION

GENERAL DESCRIPTION
Sleeps 8
4 Bedrooms
2 Bathrooms
Pets
not allowed
Smoking
not allowed
Fireplace
Internet
Waterfront
Ski <10km

Whispering Pines Cottage is the most popular cottage rental on Cottages In Canada in the Simcoe / Orillia area for the past 4 years and is often booked more than six months in advance, with a lengthy waiting list every summer. 80% of guests are repeat famillies who return to the cottage year after year. The entire cottage was renovated from top to bottom in 2019.

Summer bookings for 2020 have just been released on February 15, 2020. Rentals have a one week minimum stay and are always booked from Friday to Friday. Book early to avoid disappointment!

RENTAL OPTIONS:
Between September and June each year, the cottage often hosts long-term tenants including famillies who need temporary accommodations, employees with extended working projects, and contractors. Flexible dates available. Long-term guests are currently booked from October, 2019 to April, 2020.

Sleeps a maximum of 8 people including adults and children. SORRY, NO PETS ALLOWED. NO EXCEPTIONS! Minimum age requirement of 25 years for every adult guest staying at the cottage.

WATERFRONT LOCATION:
The waterfront cottage is directly situated on beautiful Bass Lake with shallow water and sandy bottom. BEST shores of the lake facing due south with incredible sun exposure all day. Lake is warm by the May long weekend and straight through until Thanksgiving.

Whispering Pines Cottage is located only 1 hour north of Canada's Wonderland / GTA and just minutes from the town of Orillia, Casino Rama, Horseshoe Valley Golf & Ski, and Mt. St. Louis Moonstone. It is perfectly situated on a beautiful and small lake with springfed water, approximately 2 miles by 3 miles with a sandy bottom. The water is warm and shallow and ideal for swimming, fishing, canoeing and waterskiing.

+ READ MORE
- COLLAPSE


 
AMENITIES AND EQUIPMENT
Bedrooms
4 bedrooms :
- 2 single beds
- 2 double beds
- 1 Queen bed
- Crib
Kitchen
Coffee maker
Dishes and cutlery
Dishwasher
Freezer
Microwave oven
Oven
Refrigerator
Stove
Toaster
Communications
Internet access
General
Central vacuum cleaner
Crib
Dryer
Electricity
Fireplace
Gas stove
Linens Provided
Snow removal
Washer

+ VIEW MORE
- COLLAPSE


 

LOCATION

LOCATION

Province: Ontario
Region: Muskoka / Georgian Bay
City: Orillia
Closest ski resort:Mount St.Louis Moonstone Ski Resort
Distance from ski resort:Less than 10 km
Nearest Body of Water:Bass Lake and Lake Simcoe and Lake Couchiching
Waterfront: Yes
Other Town/Lake/Area:Orillia
Note: The cottage is located on the BEST shore of Bass Lake with sunshine facing due south all day! Located within a 5 to 10 minute drive to all restaurants and shops, hospital, Couchiching Park, Bass Lake Provincial Park, mariposa folk festival, golf, hiking, bicycle paths, rock climbing, indoor skating rink, tennis and many parks and splash pads to choose from. Also within 10 to 15 minute drive from Horseshoe Valley and Mount St. Louis Moonstone ski resorts

AVAILABILITY

Last update: February 17, 2020
February 2020
smtwtfs
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
       
March 2020
smtwtfs
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930
31
    
       
AvailableNot available

RATES

NightlyWeekend
(Fri & Sat
Night)
WeeklyMonthlyEventMinimum
Stay
BASE RATE
$300$995$1500$2600-1 Month
EASTER - BOOK 2 NIGHTS, 3RD NIGHT FREE
APR 10, 2020 TO
APR 13, 2020
-$1200----
MAY LONG WEEKEND SPECIAL RATE
MAY 15, 2020 TO
MAY 18, 2020
Rate is based on minimum three night stay
-$1500----
PRE-SEASON SUMMER RATE
MAY 31, 2020 TO
JUN 19, 2020
--$1995---
SUMMER SEASON 2020-ONE WEEK MINIMUM STAY
JUN 19, 2020 TO
SEP 06, 2020
rentals are only from Friday to Friday
--$2995---
Rates are in Canadian dollars

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Check-in after06:00 PM
Check-out before01:00 PM
Tax Rate13%
Security Deposit$650 (Security deposit will be refunded within 7 days of check-out)
Booking Deposit20% due at time of booking (The balance is due 60 days before arrival)
Payments on CottagesInCanadaNo
Cancellation PolicyNo Refund
Cottage RulesView

NOTES

- maximum of 8 guests at the cottage and no pets allowed
- non-refundable deposit per week is $600
- monthly base rate of $2,600 is for 6 months during off season. A shorter period will yield a higher rate
- amounts include all amenities and utilities, and cleaning before and after your stay
- taxes are additional
- balance of rental payment and security deposit is due 60 days prior to arrival
- security deposit required of $650 which is fully refundable within 7 days of your departure, sent via cheque and mailed to applicant
- terms and conditions signed before booking is completed

REVIEWS

WRITE A REVIEW
4.4
(19 reviews)
(19 reviews)
WRITE A REVIEW
12
5
0
1
1


Thank you for your amazing accommodations at your cottage. It definitely lived up to our expectations and went several steps further. The photographs on the site didn't do the home enough justice. What a magnificent home and what a privilege to have stayed in it.

I would recommend this cottage and can't wait to come again!


Stayed: August 2019    Submitted: Sep 10, 2019
Owner response:
Dear Christy,

We appreciated the opportunity to have your family at the cottage over the beautiful Labour Day weekend. We have made some improvements and enhancements to the cottage since the photos on this site were posted, so we are glad to hear you enjoyed them! Looking forward to your return this summer, and hoping you will have the opportunity to visit during the fall colours. Wishing your whole family a healthy and happy year ahead.

Cheers,

Stacie at Whispering Pines Cottage

Our family just returned from another beautiful week at Whispering Pines Cottage after a 4th summer in a row. Each stay gets better and better! Our kids love the room with the bunk beds, and we love the largest room downstairs with comfortable big bed. Everyone enjoyed the big screen TV, pool table, and basketball net. The new renovations in the kitchen and bathroom are very high end and my wife was ecstatic to cook with all the necessities nicely stocked, while I mastered the new large BBQ outside. Our favourite features are: its very spacious with a great layout and high ceilings and panoramic views of the lake from inside and from the deck; great shallow entry and easy access to the warm lake with sandy bottom; many activities to choose from: canoe, kayaks, floating tubes, lots of paddles and lifejackets, volleyball, bikes, etc.. So convenient and close to town. Mariposa Market and Country Produce are the favourites! Our day guests loved visiting. Owners Stacie and Family are absolutely fantastic to deal with from beginning to end. Thank you again for having us!

Stayed: August 2019    Submitted: Aug 27, 2019
Owner response:
Dear Brad and Family,

Thank you for taking the time to describing your wonderful experience. We are thrilled that your extended family and all of your guests continue to enjoy their stay and the beautiful waterfront at our home year after year. You have hit many of the very special features of our cottage, and the reasons why we feel so lucky that over 80% of our guests keep returning each summer. We appreciate that you stayed at the cottage both before and after complete renovations from top to bottom. You are right - so many conveniences are minutes away such as Walmart, Food Basics, Zehrs, LCBO, Galaxy Cinemas movie theater, but the local family owned Mariposa Market and Country Produce and the Farmers Market continue to be our favourites too ::)

We appreciate hosting such a wonderful family, and we are very happy that you have chosen to return again for the fifth consecutive summer.

Kindest regards,

Stacie at Whispering Pines Cottage

We were very disappointed in this cottage and how the rental is advertised and managed. The legal agreement (provided only after you have paid a large deposit), was filled with warnings and threats that were unreasonable, including a warning that neighbours would be watching us and reporting back to the owners. In fact, the owners are right next door and are watching their renters themselves. Also, there were warnings about leaving any garbage or recycling behind - even in the garbage bin at the road. You have to take your garbage with you - this is not reasonable given the rental cost - who wants to drive home with a car full of garbage? You are told to strip the beds, do all the laundry, fold it and put it away! And you have to run the dishwasher and empty it too! This is an expensive cottage, so the demands are not reasonable and we would not have rented if we had known these terms before sending in our deposit. This cottage was not clean, it had only one queen bed despite stating there were two queens, it had an unpleasant odour in the lower level, it had very dirty windows and it provided leaky canoe, and kayaks and bikes that were unusable. The dock is too narrow to be safe and was very shaky to walk on. As past cottage owners, we have experience in renting our cottage to others and we have also rented cottages over the years, without any issues. Unfortunately, we had such a negative and unpleasant experience here, that we would not recommend this cottage.

Stayed: July 2019    Submitted: Jan 03, 2020

So I will start with the positive things about the cottage. It was clean and the front window gave us spectacular views of Bass Lake. The renovated kitchen and bathrooms were very nice. There was ample Toilet paper, dishwashing soap, and clothes washing soap. The cottage owner on the whole was quick to respond.

There are endless rules that I felt would apply to teenagers who may not have any idea how to behave, not applicable to a grandmother and her family. Many of the rules were followed by the threat of eviction. This made us very uncomfortable.

The cottage houses 8 people and we only had 2 Wine Glasses, 7 forks and we questioned if the sheets had been changed in the basement as they had an odour to them

My daughter-in-law is very pregnant and we had to give her the master bedroom as the bunk beds were very uncomfortable, in fact the only room that was comfortable was the one with the day bed

Some of the bedroom lamps did not work The Canoe was taking on water the kids felt there was a problem with the canoe.

The washroom in the basement needs a hand towel, when one has a shower there is no where to hang a towel

Suggestion for directions add postal Code as two guests ended up in Orillia as the street Name is in orillia as well.

I felt I had to write this so that they can be rectified, as the cottage has many beautiful enhancements but paying attention to the detail and guest experience would have made our stay so much better.


Stayed: July 2019    Submitted: Aug 19, 2019
Owner response:
Dear Lenita,

Thank you for sharing your helpful feedback about your stay. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the spectacular views of the lake and the new kitchen and bathrooms. We also appreciate your wonderful comments handwritten in our guest book which included the following:

"We had an incredible and fun family time here and the lake is great for swimming thank you...Sincerely Oma and the whole Family".

Upon arrival when you contacted us, we immediately arranged for delivery of 24 forks and extra cutlery, a brand new box of wine glasses, two new packs of batteries, and we guided you to the cupboard where you found clean spare sheets for every bed. We also delivered a bottle of wine, and provided a second canoe during your stay for your family. You were the first guests to use the brand new large BBQ, we arranged for early check-in at your request, and your communications during your stay were very positive ? one of your e-mails said ?you are truly amazing thank you?.

It is unfortunate that we were not made aware about your other concerns until after we received your review. Sorry to hear that you felt our rules were in any way restrictive. The terms and conditions were sent to you well before your booking was completed, and you did not provide us with any comments. We have used the same terms for the past five years with 82 famillies and groups, and thankfully, we have been praised many times about our open communications, transparency, and positive relationship with our guests. We have never had to threaten or evict any tenant, so we feel very lucky. We wish we would have known about this earlier, so that we could revise the rules and ensure you felt 100% comfortable on your vacation.

Finally, your feedback from last summer has helped us and other guests. The light bulbs are checked every week, a new hand towel rack has been installed, and we contacted google maps about the postal code so hopefully none of our guests will ever get lost again. We are pleased that all mattresses have been upgraded, a brand new king size bed is in the master bedroom, and the large bunk bed in the cottage with a twin over double is still a huge hit with the kids. Thank you very much for taking the time to share this.

We regret that your guest experience was not met in some areas, and we are continually focussed on improvements so that our guests will enjoy the perfect cottage vacation away from the day to day hustle. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back this summer.

Sincerely,

Stacie at Whispering Pines Cottage

The Bass Lake cottage is perfection! The cottage itself was immaculate and spacious, with modern but cosy open-concept living, a well-appointed kitchen, and everything we needed to be comfortable and nurtured. Even the couches and beds are comfortable! The view is incredible, with the wall of windows and the deck overlooking the mature trees and lake beyond. With the city and amenities so near, it was the ideal place to get away and just chill out. We'll definitely be back!

Stayed: June 2019    Submitted: Jun 11, 2019
Owner response:
Dear Leo,

It was wonderful that you could join us at the cottage in June. We appreciate your input about the immaculate condition of the cottage and the extra touches that we strive for to ensure our guests are comfortable. We have heard from many people how key the location is - close to the city and convenient to get everything needed for vacation, while perfect to get away and chill out in the peace and quiet. You were a pleasure to host and we are looking forward to your return this spring!

$300 / night
$995 - $1500 / weekend
$1500 - $2995 / week
$2600 / month
Contact Owner
First Name *
Last Name *
Email *
Confirm your email *
Check In
Check Out
Adults
Children
Phone Number
Message *
STACIE AT WHISPERING PINES COTTAGE
Member since May 2015
Speaks: English
Response Rate: 100%


CONTACT OWNER

SHARE THIS COTTAGE
JOIN US ON
Copyright CottagesInCanada
RENTERS
Search
Cottage Rentals
Cottages For Sale
Last Listings
Special Offers
My Wishlist
Secure Payments

OWNERS
List Your Cottage
Owner Login

COTTAGESINCANADA
Terms and Conditions
Private Policy
Contact Us
Français