For Rent
> > > > > PL-21051

Red Cape Cottage - Cozy, quaint, comfortable - Right on the sea!

4.4/5(10 reviews)
Add to Wishlist
Front of Cottage With Covered Porch and Beach at Low Tide - 1/25
Front of Cottage Facing Northwest - 2/25
The end of another perfect day at the beach! - 3/25
Full Moon at Low Tide - 4/25
Almost Sunset on Red Cape Cottage at Low Tide - 7/25
Beach at low tide - pure red sand! - 8/25
Awesome! - 9/25
Red sandstone cape in front of cottage - hence, the name! - 10/25
Living Room - 11/25
Living Room Picture #2 - 12/25
Master Bedroom - 13/25
Second Bedroom - 14/25
Kitchen (cabinet doors not installed!) - 15/25
Floor Plan - Red Cape Cottage - 16/25
Artist's Conception - Front View - 17/25
Living room facing the front... you can see how close the sea is through the window! - 18/25
Convection / Microwave and Induction Cooktop - 19/25
Just a sample page from our guest book - 20/25
Just a sample page from our guest book - 21/25
Exploring the beach at low tide. - 22/25
Ripples in the sand - 23/25
View to the east at low tide from front lawn - 24/25
View out kitchen window (east view) - 25/25
$225 / night
$225 / night
DescriptionLocationAvailabilityRatesReviews (10)


Sleeps 4
2 Bedrooms
1 Bathroom
Pets allowed
not allowed

** We always keep our availability calendar up to date...please check the calendar on the "Availability" tab... if the cottage shows "Available" on your dates of interest, it is! Please note that we have a 4 night minimum stay requirement.**

Your dream beach vacation starts with the perfect accommodation! Our cottage is ocean-front and south-facing with gorgeous 210 degree views that will allow you to enjoy spectacular sea sunrises and sunsets!

The cottage is in the wonderful Acadian community of Cape Egmont on the Northumberland Strait in a private setting on seven acres. We are located just two hundred meters to the east of the world-famous "Bottle Houses" (which are a must-see while on the Island) in the charming "La Region Evangeline" - the heart of Acadian Prince Edward Island. We are only a few miles from the Acadian Museum in Miscouche and the wonderful villages of Abram Village and Wellington.

The location features extensive beautiful red sand beach off a red sandstone shelf. The Strait's waters are warm and shallow, meaning that children can stay in for hours without getting cold. Tides are very gentle with a range of only a few feet. The shallow waters extend out hundreds of feet, at which point they are still only waist-deep, making the beach perfect (and safe) for young children. At low tide the beach is perfect for clamming, building sandcastles, kite-surfing, or whatever your heart desires.

The cottage is "turn-key" - you only need to bring food, beverages, personal items, and consumables for a great time! (Please bring your own beach towels.) All other equipment is on-site.


2 bedrooms :
- 2 single beds
- 1 double bed
Coffee maker
Dishes and cutlery
Microwave oven
Internet access
Air conditioning
Linens Provided





Province: Prince Edward Island
Region: North Cape Coastal Drive
City: Summerside
Closest ski resort:-
Distance from ski resort:-
Nearest Body of Water:Northumberland Strait
Waterfront: Yes
Other Town/Lake/Area:Wellington
Note: Located near the intersection of Panneau Road and Route 11 in Cape Egmont.

We are located 200 meters east of the world-famous Bottle Houses.

Visit us on Google Earth! Latitude 46d 24m 02.76s N Longitude 64d 06m 04.67s W


Last update: October 05, 2022
October 2022
November 2022
December 2022
January 2023
February 2023
March 2023
AvailableNot available


(Fri & Sat
Rates are based on up to 4 persons. Add $10 per night per additional person.
$225--$1445$4995-4 Nights
Rates are in Canadian dollars


Check-in after04:00 PM
Check-out before10:00 AM
Security Deposit$300 (Security deposit will be refunded within 5 days of check-out)
Accepted PaymentsInterac e-Transfer
Cancellation PolicyStrict
Cottage RulesView
  • Pet fee : $100.00


Nightly: $160 off-peak $215 peak
Weekly: $950 off-peak $1345 peak
Monthly: $2895 off-peak $4675 peak

All rates are $CDN based on 4 person occupancy. Weekly rate is for 7 nights. Minimum stay 3 nights peak season, 3 nights off-peak. We have to charge 5% GST..

Note: Prices subject to change without notice or compensation.

We accept payments by credit card (Visa and Mastercard) or Paypal. We prefer Paypal since Paypal payments can be made in any currency. For our Canadian customers we prefer bank eTransfer since the transaction feed are lower for everyone, plus we have the ability to process payments without foreign exchange fees or worry about fluctuating exchange rates. Our credit card process or only allows transactions in $USD, so for credit card transactions, we will convert currency at an approximate bank exchange rate at the time of booking... deposit refunds will be issued at the same exchange rate.

$70 per-person surcharge on top of weekly rates for occupancy >4 persons. Pet cleaning fee surcharge $100.00.

Peak rates are July, August, Sept. through Labour Day (first Monday in Sept.).

Off-peak rates are May, June, September (after Labour Day), October.


(10 reviews)
(10 reviews)

Magnifique emplacement pour nous! Ça valait la peine d'attendre deux ans. Calme , bien situé pour notre envie de repos. C'est confortable et très bien équipé. Aucune déception au contraire. Merci

Wonderful location for us! It was worth the two year wait. Quiet, well located for our desire to rest. It is comfortable and very well equipped. No disappointment on the contrary. Thank you.

Stayed: July 2022    Submitted: Aug 05, 2022
Owner response:
Merci beaucoup, Maryse et Pierre-Guy! We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful vacation at Red Cape Cottage. Thank you for leaving the cabin so clean, it made our lives much easier. We hope to see you again during a future stay.

Jamie and Carolyn

We were privileged to enjoy a peaceful and quiet vacation in this beautiful, cozy and quaint little cottage. This beautiful cottage has all the necessities to make your stay comfortable. Completely secluded from the humdrum of daily life, we spent numerous hours walking on the beach and the sand dunes while listening to the waves. Majestic sunsets filled with peace and serenity? Stargazers should bring a telescope to enjoy clear night skies filled with brilliant stars, unhindered by any kind of light interference?

In short, this little cottage is a gem, a peaceful oasis located in an awe-inspiring location.

Thank you very much Carolyn and James for allowing us to enjoy this nice little cottage. You made our first trip to PEI a beautiful and memorable experience. God willing, we will return. We had a great vacation! Thanks again!

Stayed: June 2022    Submitted: Jul 14, 2022
Owner response:
Merci beaucoup, J-C! It was so great to meet you folks!

We are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful vacation and enjoyed Red Cape Cottage. We hope that we will have the honour of having you and Karen stay with us again in the future.

Meilleurs souvenirs,


Nous avons passé de très beaux moments. Le cottage confortable, relaxant avec une vue splendide de la mer. Coucher et lever de soleil formidable. Un endroit idéal pour relaxer si paisible. Sa plage idéale pour faire de longue promenade et ses découvertes. Cap Egmont est un beau petit village à découvrir. Je le recommande pour tous ceux aimant la nature et la paix

Stayed: September 2019    Submitted: Oct 04, 2019

Le chalet est style cabine, agréable, propre et confortable pour deux personnes. Les petits déjeuners sur le patio avec le panorama et les effluves de la mer ainsi que la douceur du vent sont très agréables. Le chalet est entouré de gazon bien entretenu et faisant un bel espace de jeu.
L'équipement de la cuisine est simple, parfois minimaliste : absences de couteaux à steack pour le repas, de couteau à huitre, de fouet, de dessous de plats. La plaque à induction a deux ronds et son empattement permet difficilement d'y avoir simultanément une casserole et une grande poêle. Cela nécessite une optimisation des besoins de cuisson, notamment en utilisant le BBQ.
Le salon est équipé de meubles en rotin offrant un confort mitigé.
Quelques informations inattendues ne figurent pas sur la description de ce site internet :
Le forfait n'inclut pas la gestion des déchets qui est remis au fardeau des locataires qui doivent eux-mêmes les apporter au centre de déchets local à vingt minutes de route et défrayer 5 dollars pour.
La location inclut un seul rouleau de papier toilette (!).
Nous avons dû prendre l'initiative de réclamer notre dépôt de sécurité (300$), sept jours après que nous soyons partis, n'ayant aucune nouvelle des locateurs.
Plusieurs irritants quant à l'expérience et service client souhaités pour ce type de location.

Stayed: August 2019    Submitted: Sep 09, 2019
Owner response:
Nous remercions notre invitée d'avoir pris le temps de partager ses opinions et ses suggestions.
Nous sommes heureux d'apprendre que l'invité a apprécié le chalet et son emplacement.
Plusieurs des problèmes qu'elle a soulevés ont été expliqués dans les différents courriels d'information que nous avons envoyés avant sa réservation ou avant son arrivée au chalet.
Il était clairement indiqué dans les conditions de location que nous avons envoyé par courrier électronique en réponse à sa demande de location initiale (AVANT même qu'elle ait fait sa réservation) que le dépôt de garantie serait restitué DANS LES 10 JOURS SUIVANT son départ. Il a été retourné dans les sept jours sans aucun problème.
VEUILLEZ lire TOUTES les informations que nous envoyons dans nos communications par courrier électronique!
La politique en matière de déchets a également été communiquée dans la fiche de renseignements que nous lui avons envoyée par courrier électronique deux mois avant son arrivée. (L'installation de traitement des déchets se trouve sur la route principale alors que vous quittez l'île, et oui, l'élimination de vos ordures coûte 5 $.) Nous avons expliqué au client la nécessité de cette politique et il est désormais pratique courante de louer des chalets sur l'Ile.
Les clients sont responsables de leur propre approvisionnement (oui, y compris le papier hygiénique) et encore une fois, cela est expliqué en détail dans nos informations de location que tous les clients reçoivent à l'avance.
Nous ne sommes pas un hôtel, nous louons notre maison!
Veuillez venir préparé à l'avance en vous arrêtant à l'épicerie pour ramasser des articles de base sur le chemin du chalet!
L'invité nous a envoyé de nombreuses questions par courrier électronique après leur arrivée, auxquelles nous avons volontiers répondu rapidement par courrier électronique ou par téléphone.

The cottage itself is very nice being only a few years old. It is a well designed space and the heat pump is a welcome bonus on a very hot day, however, there is usually a nice breeze so it doesn't get too hot.
The beach was a disappointment. At the foot of the stairs there are rocks. Even at low tide, there isn't a place to put a beach chair. You can walk out to a sandy bottom and there is a nice beach over to the left, just not directly in front of the cottage.
Our biggest complaint is the garbage situation. The renters are expected to take away all their garbage, compost and recyclables. There is a facility where you can take it all, but there is a charge to drop it off. In our case, it was only $5.00, but it is the nuisance factor that we didn't appreciate. I think the cottage owners need to arrange garbage collection.
The other thing to note is that there is no supply of toilet paper included. There was one roll of paper (not full) there when we arrived. Enough for a week should be provided.
This area of PEI is very interesting and worth exploring. 'The Bottle Houses' next door is a must see. The cathedral that you can see from the cottage is also something to check out. We enjoyed the Summerside waterfront. There is a nice fish store down the road from the cottage. Fresh fish is available on Tuesdays and Thursdays.
Definitely a nice cottage to visit and if the complaints that we had were addressed, I would give it a much better review.

Stayed: July 2019    Submitted: Aug 06, 2019
Owner response:
Thanks for taking the time to write a detailed review, Margaret.

We're glad that you liked the cottage and the location.

To respond to your opinions:

1. Beach area. For safety , the beach stairs cannot be placed on sand, which is why they are on the sandstone on the beach in front of the cottage. Moving 25 meters in any direction would put you on the lovely red sand that is exposed at low tide. FYI, the entire beach up and down the coast is public property.
2. Garbage issue. All our guests are apprised of our waste management policy in advance of their arrival so it should have come as no surprise that you were expected to take your waste to a disposal site. We have found that most other rental cottages on PEI have implemented similar policies. To explain: In PEI, roadside collection is very other week, and we found that the bins provided by the municipality were too small to accommodate all the trash being generated. You don't need much imagination to appreciate the smell and maggots in food waste in the plastic waste bins after two weeks in the hot July sun. Because waste was not being properly sorted, we were receiving fines from the municipality, or they would refuse to pick it up. Even using a hired roll-off bin still requires that trash be sorted properly and our years of experience in cottage rentals says that this would not be done.
3. Toilet paper - we clearly state in advance that guests are responsible for all their own supplies. Sorry.

$225 / night
$1445 / week
$4995 / month
Contact Owner
First Name
Last Name
Confirm your email
Check In
Check Out
Phone Number
Member since March 2010
Speaks: English
Response Rate: 100%
Phone NumberPhone Number (Show)


Copyright CottagesInCanada
Cottage Rentals
Cottages For Sale
Last Listings
Special Offers
My Wishlist

List Your Cottage
Owner Login

Terms and Conditions
Private Policy
Contact Us